Only 2 Months Later…

Only fellow islanders can understand the Neverland effect that living in the VI produces. If it wasn’t for Facebook, tourists, and the sudden “chill” (for the island, that is) in the wind, I’d be in a permanent state of June. However that’s no excuse! I am making an early New Year’s resolution (it’s not 2015 yet right??) to watch less television (sometimes kicking and screaming) and to share more of our beautiful island life with the world through our blog and our aspiring photography. Hold me accountable world!

Anywho, despite the many visitors we’ve had, our first vacation from the island, and my recent visit home, it is only fitting that I begin this pseudo re-cap with the greatest addition to our lives- my nephew Thomas Israel!

This is my favorite photo of him because he has clearly already formed a highly intelligent opinion of the world and is obviously dissatisfied with the current political and economic state of things:Β 604124_10152919022792962_556105426983729159_n

However he also rocks the bear hat pretty hard:Β 1939671_10152919020147962_3861435251704615811_n

To Thomas, I am Zia. I happened upon this while searching for the perfect aunt name, and that is what it is for me. I love him more than words can express and do firmly believe that he is a genius and will fix the world and lead nations πŸ™‚ And my most wonderful and beautiful sister, Lindsey, did that. I am awestruck.

In other recent developments, I am now 25. It feels much older than anything before, but I suppose that’s how I’ve felt with each numerical increase. My birthday consisted of a few days of celebration, one of which was particularly ruined by an intense migraine and my leaving in the middle of Mockingjay (that’s how you know it was bad) to sit in the movie theater bathroom with the feeling I would vomit. I was quite upset about missing the evening festivities but mostly felt so loved and blessed to have such great island friends πŸ™‚ I enjoyed an incredible dinner with my husband at the Twisted Cork (which I highly recommend and will most certainly return) and loved the Coach bracelet in perfect purple and gold which he gifted me. Somehow I did not take a single solitary photo of any one of my birthday festivities save the picture I posted on Instagram of the perfect red Coach box. Certainly a direct result of getting older, I am convinced πŸ˜‰ Selfies becoming more of an afterthought with each passing age.

In my next recap, I will touch on my bout of Chikungunya and our most lovely cruise to our Caribbean neighbors. Going forward, we are celebrating Thanksgiving with our island friends and family, DJ is visiting home in early December for Sam’s graduation, and we are looking forward to Christmas on de island! More to come soon πŸ˜‰

Cheers,

Meg

Leave a Reply

Fill Your Own Glass

A realistic approach to an optimistic life

Wanderings and Ponderings

My Study Abroad Adventures in England & France

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Dave Barnhart's Blog

Building a community for sinners, saints, and skeptics who join God in the renewal of all things

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

J.S. Park

From Devout Atheist to Skeptical Pastor: A Blog For Busted-Up, Beat-Down People (Like Me)

Bigger Story

Our lives are stories that interconnect and weave together into a greater, much bigger story of love, grace, and redemption.

Uneven Apprehendings

β€œMy thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” -John Green

Random Feelings

β€œSo, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be.” -The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

