One, two, skip a few…

For some reason this childhood chant has been recurrent in my mind the past few days. The lyrics perfectly describe the countdown of the remaining days while exemplifying the rapid passing of time as the end approaches; the end of school, the end of the moving countdown, the end of waiting to begin again. The past few weeks of school have been increasingly stressful. On the one hand, I know that I am moving past this career soon, so I am anxious to wrap up. On the other hand, I feel a sense of urgency to leave my students with something worthwhile, a mark of some sort. In other words, I fear being forgotten; that my hard work and dedication this year was just a mere stepping stone in the monotonous process of graduating high school. Recently a former student of mine was involved in a crime which will forever deem him a murderer. This news was shocking and devastating to me. I felt like there must have been something I could have done or said to further impact this child’s life to change his future path. While there’s no way to know if anything of the sort could be done, it has made me feel a pressure to leave a unique impression upon my students. It is my hope that telling them of this great decision that DJ and I have made will be exactly what I am looking for, that my leap of faith will inspire a lifetime of leaps and bounds in those that will follow me. Regardless of the outcome of this journey, whether we come right back home or live a life in perfect island bliss, I pray that the message that it is never too late, that circumstances do not define life, that dreams are meant to be wild and crazy will resonate to them through my dependence on faith and God as I leave everything I’ve known behind me. Perhaps the very purpose of my following this career path, getting this degree, and venturing in the teaching profession was to show my very special 125 kids how to be unconventional and follow your heart. This deep pondering for a greater meaning and connection to the “point of it all” reminded me of a certain sir who also searched for a greater meaning: “Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before. Maybe Christmas, he thought… doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas, perhaps… means a little bit more!” Ahh, shake off that seriousness! Anywho, in addition to my life ponderings of the impression I will leave on young minds, we have again been savoring every moment with our family and friends including our awesome trip to the zoo with my mom and family.

20130424-212751.jpg

20130424-212759.jpg

We also saw the Despicable Me blimp pass right over the zoo which was AMAHHHHZING!

DSC01306

We went to what will most likely be our last crawfish boil with my dad and family at their church and had a great time visiting with everyone! As far as move progress goes,Β DJ and I both got our blood work back, and we’re both healthy, awaiting vaccinations and dental work. We are getting to the bare bones of packing as we are moving next Friday to my mom’s. Passports are in as well! Hopefully we won’t be working too hard, so we can make use of them and go island hopping this summer πŸ™‚

923324_10151487813353673_1003006470_n

Cheers,

Megan

Countdown: 36 days!!

Leave a Reply

Fill Your Own Glass

A realistic approach to an optimistic life

Wanderings and Ponderings

My Study Abroad Adventures in England & France

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Dave Barnhart's Blog

Building a community for sinners, saints, and skeptics who join God in the renewal of all things

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

J.S. Park

From Devout Atheist to Skeptical Pastor: A Blog For Busted-Up, Beat-Down People (Like Me)

Bigger Story

Our lives are stories that interconnect and weave together into a greater, much bigger story of love, grace, and redemption.

Uneven Apprehendings

β€œMy thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” -John Green

Random Feelings

β€œSo, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be.” -The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

