What Happened to February?!!!

Whoah! It seems as if February just started, and it’s already over! Needless to say we’ve been slacking on ye ole blog posts, so what you are about to experience is our attempt to catch you up on all that’s gone on in this whirl-wind of a month! I (Dj) will do my best to catch you up on the beginning of the month, and Meg will post soon about everything else. So here it goes….

One of the hardest things about moving away from the only place you’ve called home is realizing all of the things/people you will miss. That being said, we’ve been trying to make the most of our time left on the bayou, trying to do and experience as much here as we can with our time left. With the SuperBowl being held in New Orleans this year I decided to head to the NFL Experience with my dad and brother. The NFL Experience is basically an interactive theme park that sets up in the host city the week of the Super Bowl. So much to see and do, and it only cost $25! We decided to go on Saturday, the day before the big game. Parked a couple of blocks away, wasn’t too crowded, and it turned out to be a great day. Where else do you get the chance to see the Vince Lombardi trophy, browse NFL Hall of Fame exhibits, meet players, run drills, and even kick field goals? I think the best part of this experience was seeing my dad go all in. There wasn’t an anything we could suggest that he wouldn’t do, whether it was testing his speed with a 40 yard dash or diving into a foam pit for a picture. Speaking of which here are the pictures of us doing just that.
Chaz
Chaz
DadDadDjMe

This really was a special day and I’m glad we all decided to go. All of the activities from the NFL Experience left me feeling sore the next day for the big game, good thing I wasn’t scheduled to play 😉 Instead Meg and I spend the night enjoying a competitive game, good food, and great friends.

The next weekend was the weekend before Mardi Gras, which is something I’ve grown up with my whole life, but the last Mardi Gras parade that I’ve been to was kindergarten year when I dressed up as Simba from the Lion King and marched around the traffic circle of my elementary school tossing beads to a group of proud parents who were, quite frankly, more interested in taking pictures of us than catching any of the 10 cent trinkets we were throwing, but hey, I couldn’t blame them! I was a very adorable child. 🙂

Realizing next year we would be on island and slightly out of driving range of New Orleans, we decided to do Mardi Gras. Meg has been going to parades with her family from childhood but hadn’t been since she was 15, so we were kind of clueless as to which parade to go to, where to try to watch from, or even where to park. We just decided to wing it. We found cheap parking and a great place to set up shop on St. Charles Ave to watch to Krewe of Iris. We had a great time and caught our share of beads. We were right behind a family with young children which worried me because I didn’t want to have to punch a baby in the face to get my beads, but I was prepared to do it if necessary. Fortunately it didn’t come down to that, but here are some pictures from our Mardi Gras festivities.

DSC00980 DSC00993 DSC00997DSC01000DSC00999

Meg will be posting soon!
DJ

Leave a Reply

Fill Your Own Glass

A realistic approach to an optimistic life

Wanderings and Ponderings

My Study Abroad Adventures in England & France

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Dave Barnhart's Blog

Building a community for sinners, saints, and skeptics who join God in the renewal of all things

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

J.S. Park

From Devout Atheist to Skeptical Pastor: A Blog For Busted-Up, Beat-Down People (Like Me)

Bigger Story

Our lives are stories that interconnect and weave together into a greater, much bigger story of love, grace, and redemption.

Uneven Apprehendings

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” -John Green

Random Feelings

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be.” -The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

